2024 clergy moves announced

Published on 4th Feb, 2024

WelCom February 2024

Archbishop Paul Martin sm and Bishop John Adams announced in December the following clergy shifts and appointments for the Archdiocese of Wellington and the Diocese of Palmerston North for 2024.

Diocese of Palmerston North 

Cathedral of the Holy Spirit, Palmerston North Fr Vui Hoang, assistant priest
The Catholic Parish of New Plymouth Fr Trung Nguyen, assistant priest
Immaculate Conception, Stratford Fr Nathaniel Brazil, parish priest
Returning to Ōtaki, Archdiocese of Wellington Fr Alan Roberts
The Catholic Parish of Hastings Fr Marcus Francis, parish priest  Fr Vijay Dungdung, assistant priest

Archdiocese of Wellington

Sacred Heart Cathedral Parish Fr Patrick Bridgman, assistant priest Debbie Matheson, lay pastoral leader Fr Viator Muyuni – Diocese of Bukoba, Tanzania, studies, In residence at Viard House
Catholic Parish of Otari-Karori-Wilton Fr Joy Thottankara, parish priest Long Tran, pre-seminarian in residence
Catholic Parish of Wellington South Fr Ravi Kumar Voliganti, assistant priest Dyester Abo-Abo, pre-seminarian in residence
St Francis of Assisi Ohariu Parish Msgr Gerard Burns, parish priest Fr Alfred Tong, assistant priest John Quang, pre-seminarian in residence
Te Pariha o Te Ngākau Tapu, Porirua Msgr Gerard Burns, administrator Fr Alfred Tong, assistant priest
Holy Family Parish, Porirua East Fr Isaac Songa mf, parish priest Fr Nicholas Phone Myint mf, assistant priest
Te Awakairangi Parish – Society of Divine Word (svd) assumes responsibility for the parish Fr Raja Kommareddy svd, parish priest Fr Uili Uvea svd, assistant priest
Te Wairua Tapu Parish, Lower Hutt Fr Akuila Taliauli svd, assistant priest
St Mary’s Parish, Ōtaki Fr Alan Roberts, parish priest
St Joseph’s Parish, Levin Fr Bruce England, parish priest
Catholic Parish of Wairarapa Fr Dennis Nacorda, parish priest Matthew White, assistant deacon
Te Whetu O Te Moana – Our Lady Star of the Sea Parish, Marlborough – Missionaries of the Sacred Heart (msc) assume pastoral responsibility for the parish Fr Simione Volavola msc, parish priest Fr Tavita Lemusu msc, assistant priest
Holy Family Parish, Nelson-Stoke  Fr Noel Corcino, cjm, assistant priest (Fr Marlon Tebelin returns home September 2024)
Our Lady of the Bays Catholic Parish, Richmond, Motueka, Takaka Fr Michael Bellizzi, parish priest Fr Jaya-Praveen Yenubari, assistant priest Seminarian Emilio Capin, pastoral year
Other changes
Fr Peter Roe sm – concludes contract as administrator of St Francis of Assisi Ohariu Parish.
Fr Ron Bennett – retires as parish priest of Otari-Wilton and becomes senior-priest-in-residence at Holy Cross Seminary, Auckland.
Fr Alliston Fernandes (Archdiocese of Malta) – returns to Malta from 1 March 2024.
Fr David Orange – in retirement.
Fr Michael McCabe – in retirement.
Fr Seph Pijfers – appointment pending.
Fr Cirilo Barlis – leave of absence for 2024, returning to the Philippines.

The post 2024 clergy moves announced first appeared on Archdiocese of Wellington.

Have a question? We can help. Get in touch with the Diocese.