Our Priests

The Diocese of Palmerston North is served by its own diocesan priests together with priests belonging to various Religious Orders: The Society of Mary (Marists), Rosminians (The Institute of Charity), The Heralds of Good News, and the Cistercian Monks of Kopua Abbey.

Alongside the usual variety of pastoral activities associated with parish life, our priests also serve as spiritual directors, school and college chaplains, chaplains to hospitals and prisons, university and other tertiary chaplains, and offer ministry to Catholic marae.

A special place within our Diocese is New Zealand’s only community of Catholic monks who reside at Southern Star Abbey in Central Hawke’s Bay. They belong to the Cistercian order and lead a semi-contemplative life.

View map of the Diocese for Church, School and Maori Eucharistic Community locations.

In active ministry:


Mons Brian Walsh
Mons Dave Bell
Rev Adonis Rancho
Rev Anthony Zaw Htun
Rev Barry Scannell SM
Rev Bernard O’Donnell
Rev Brian Carmine
Rev Craig Butler
Rev Damian Caccioppoli SM
Rev David Moore SM
Rev Joe Grayland
Rev John Roberts
Rev Joseph Saw Tha Khu
Rev Marcus Francis
Rev Michael O’Donnell SM
Rev Manoj Mathew IC
Rev Robin Kurian IC
Rev Paul Kerridge
Rev Peter Brockhill
Rev Simon Story
Rev Tom Lawn
Rev Trung Nguyen
Rev Vaughan Leslie
Rev Vince Onesi
Rev Vijay Dung Dung
Rev Vui Hoang


Rev Tevita Fakaosi
Rev Danny Karatea-Goddard

Southern Star Abbey

Rev Max Palmer OCSO
Rev Nicholas Verkley OCSO

Priests and Bishops in retirement:

Bishop Peter Cullinane
Bishop Owen Dolan
Bishop Charles Drennan
Rev Anthony Williams SM
Rev Arthur Toothill SM
Rev Dominic Heslin
Rev Frank Twiss SM
Rev Harry Costello
Rev Joe O’Sullivan
Rev John Craddock SM
Rev John Dykes
Rev John McLaughlan
Rev Karaitiana Kingi SM
Rev Kevin Neal
Rev Manus Lyons
Rev Michael Lloyd
Rev Michael Wooller SM
Rev Neal Wilson SM
Rev Percy Kimble SM
Rev Peter Fahy
Rev Terry Carr
Rev Tom Sherry
Rev Walter Cooke

Have a question? We can help. Get in touch with the Diocese.