Survivor Advisory Group appointed

Published on 3rd Jun, 2019

The Royal Commission of Inquiry into Historical Abuse in Care has announced the appointment of a Survivor Advisory Group.

The group will represent survivors of abuse in State care and those from faith-based institutions.

Commission Chair Sir Anand Satyanand says survivors are at the centre of the Royal Commission’s work and it is essential their voices are heard and respected.

‘We received a large number of applications. Those selected represent a wide range of survivor experiences and networks necessary to give advice to the Royal Commission. I am looking forward to working with them,’ he said.

Almost 50 people applied to be on the Survivor Advisory Group.

The following people were selected: Carol Beckett, Tyrone Marks, Keith Wiffin, Kath Coster, Rangi Wickliffe, Gregg Malone, Tony Jarvis, Paora Crawford-Moyle, Albert Epere, Jane Stevens, Piripi Gray, Steve Goodlass, Emily Holden, Jim Goodwin, Anne Stephenson, Michael Chamberlain, Gary Williams, Johnny Siaosi, Sally Champion and Josie Khoury.

The Survivor Advisory Group will meet at least four times a year in either Auckland or Wellington.

For further information go to

The government has agreed on six principles to guide how its agencies and the Crown respond to the Royal Commission into historical abuse in state care and in the care of faith-based institutions.

The Minister for State Services, Chris Hipkins, said on Monday, 13 May 2019, setting out the principles was an important step in rebuilding trust between the government and those abused while in state care.

The six principles are:

  • Manaakitanga – treating people with humanity, compassion, fairness, respect and responsible caring that upholds the mana of those involved;
  • Openness – being honest and sincere, being open to receiving new ideas and willing to consider how things are done currently, and how things have been done in the past;
  • Transparency – sharing information, including the reasons behind all actions;
  • Learning – active listening and learning from the Royal Commission and survivors, and using that information to change and improve systems;
  • Being joined up – agencies work together closely to make sure activities are aligned, engagement with the Royal Commission is coordinated and the resulting actions are collectively owned;
  • Meeting obligations under Te Tiriti o Waitangi – honouring the Treaty, its principles, meeting obligations and building a stronger Māori-Crown relationship through the way we operate and behave.

The Royal Commission will present an interim report in December 2020 and its final report by January 2023.

Published in WelCom June 2019

Have a question? We can help. Get in touch with the Diocese.

Have a question?