Four winners named in the 2022 Delargey Awards

Published on 29th Jun, 2022

Four people have been nominated for their outstanding work in Catholic youth ministry are winners in the 2022 Delargey Awards.

The awards are named in honour of Cardinal Reginald Delargey (1914-79) who was noted for his tireless work for young Catholics. They are presented by the New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference every two years to recognise outstanding involvement in Catholic youth ministry.

The 2022 winners are:

–  Janette Bradbrook and Mike Fidow of the Catholic Parish of Christchurch East, Catechesis category, for their remarkable commitment to building youth ministry in their parish and          diocese.

– Peter Fuga of Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Onehunga, Auckland, Advocacy, Catechesis, Community Life, Evangelisation, Leadership Development and Prayer and Worship categories, for his limitless energy in providing opportunities and inspiration for young people.

– Michelle Schaare (pictured below) of the Catholic Parish of New Plymouth, Advocacy category, for her passion for the employment, support, and governance of youth ministers.

Bishop of Auckland Stephen Lowe, Secretary of the NZ Catholic Bishops Conference-Te Huinga o ngā Pīhopa Katorika o Aotearoa, says the nomination letters for the four winners spoke of their deep investment, leadership, faith and remarkable contributions to the young people of the Church in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Delargey Awards have been presented since 2004 to recognise long-term involvement in Catholic ministry with young people, to educate the community about ministry with young people, and to raise the profile of Catholic ministry with young people.

The award takes the form of a small trophy which will be presented to the winners.

Michelle Schaare of the Catholic Parish of New Plymouth.

Have a question? We can help. Get in touch with the Diocese.